healthy food recipes

Homemade Baby Food

My baby is almost six months old! Time has really flown by! I can’t believe how fast she’s growing. We (I) decided to start her on solids around six months since that’s what WHO has been recommending for breastfed babies. I was extremely worried about starting solids because there seems to be a lot of different conflicting information available out there. Finally, I found a guide on kellymom.com that really resonated with me and seemed logical. This site is also evidence-based so I feel like it’s really trustworthy. You can find the link to solid foods here. By the way, this website is a great resource for breastfeeding.

We started our baby on solids this week and we had some organic acorn squash laying around that my husband picked up from somewhere (he keeps bringing home random produce!). I wanted to skip the rice cereal. It just seemed that veggies might be more nutritious to me but I can’t say that it’s right or wrong to introduce cereals. There is so much conflicting information out there! What I did was cut it into quarters, scoop out the seeds, and steam it in a basket. After it got all soft and mushy I scooped out the flesh with a spoon and puréed the flesh in a blender. It was that easy! I mixed the purée with some breast milk and she loved it!

I’m trying to phase out the breast milk now so she can get used to a firmer consistency. Today I am going to try puréed carrots.

20121123-105101.jpg

20121123-105348.jpg

This is what a Korean carrot looks like. I picked this up at the market yesterday and the woman in the produce section was really helpful. She asked if I knew how to cook Korean food and I told her I was making baby food. At first I picked out the cleaned carrots but she said they were from China! I’m glad I talked to her. No offense to China but I feel much better about getting my produce locally, at least in the country! So folks in Korea, think twice about getting the cleaned carrots! I don’t know why the Korean carrots are unwashed but you can wash and peel them at home. It’s a little more work but worth it.

20121123-110534.jpg
I cut them into chunks to go in the steaming basket.

20121123-110634.jpg

20121123-110800.jpg This steaming basket is kind of embarrassing. It’s so beat up and missing a piece but it’s fully functional! If you’re in Korea you can pick these up anywhere and they’re really inexpensive. I think I just paid a few thousand won for this one.

About twenty or thirty minutes later your carrots should be mushy. I poke them with a chopstick. If it goes through easily, they’re ready for the blender. This is the first time I made carrot purée and they were tougher to blend than the acorn squash so I added a little bottled water. We use tap water for our own food but I’m worried about using it for the baby’s food.

20121123-123431.jpg

20121123-123516.jpg

I’m done with her food! Now I need to store it. I looked all over for ice cube trays and could not find any! Weird! Anyway, I bought these cool moulds for about 2,000₩ at Daiso. It’s like a dollar store. I’m going to freeze my baby food in the moulds and then transfer them to a ziplock baggy.

20121123-124356.jpg

20121123-124537.jpg

20121123-124620.jpg

20121123-124644.jpg

20121123-124754.jpg

I think she likes it. I tasted it myself and it’s actually really sweet, which is weird because I never thought of carrots as sweet! Next week I’ll try fruit. I’m thinking applesauce might be fun to try. I never imagined I would be making my own baby food but living in a small town in Korea, you don’t have many options. But I feel really good about making food for my baby that has no additives, salt, sugars, or preservatives and it’s cheap!

2 thoughts on “Homemade Baby Food

  1. About you cleaned carrots coming from China- it doesn’t surprise me. Tesco in Ireland/England has a reputation for not using local produce and being bad to farmers. (Although these days they are trying to remedy that)

Leave a Reply

